HOW TO PRAY THE ROSARY

- 1. Make the Sign of the Cross.
- 2. Holding the Crucifix, say the Apostles' Creed.
- 3. On the first bead, say an Our Father.
- 4. Say one Hail Mary on each of the next three beads.
- 5. Say the Glory Be.



1. SIGN OF THE CROSS

The Rosary is a Scripture-based prayer. It begins with the Apostles' Creed, which summarizes the great mysteries of the Catholic faith.

The Our Father, which introduces each mystery, is from the Gospels.

The first part of the Hail Mary is the angel's words announcing Christ's birth and Elizabeth's greeting to Mary. St. Pius V officially added the second part of the Hail Mary.

The Mysteries of the Rosary center on the events of Christ's life.

There are four sets of Mysteries: Joyful, Sorrowful, Glorious and – added by Saint John Paul II in 2002 – the Luminous.

The repetition in the Rosary is meant to lead one into restful and contemplative prayer related to each Mystery. The gentle repetition of the words helps us to enter into the silence of our hearts, where Christ's spirit dwells.

The Rosary can be said privately or with a group.

The **Five Joyful Mysteries** are traditionally prayed on Mondays, Saturdays, and, during the season of Advent, on Sundays:

- 1. The Annunciation
- 2. The Visitation
- 3. The Nativity
- 4. The Presentation in the Temple
- 5. The Finding in the Temple

The **Five Sorrowful Mysteries** are traditionally prayed on Tuesdays, Fridays, and, during the season of Lent, on Sundays:

- 1. The Agony in the Garden
- 2. The Scourging at the Pillar
- 3. The Crowning with Thorns
- 4. The Carrying of the Cross
- 5. The Crucifixion and Death

The **Five Glorious Mysteries** are traditionally prayed on Wednesdays and, outside the seasons of Advent and Lent, on Sundays:

- 1. The Resurrection
- 2. The Ascension
- 3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit
- 4. The Assumption
- 5. The Coronation of Mary

The **Five Luminous Mysteries** are traditionally prayed on Thursdays:

- 1. The Baptism of Christ in the Jordan
- 2. The Wedding Feast at Cana
- 3. Jesus' Proclamation of the Coming of the Kingdom of God
- 4. The Transfiguration
- 5. The Institution of the Eucharist

